top of page

Spare Tire Engineering

In efforts to find a good location for a tire spare, I had to do some serious design and building. I had seen a photo online of a 69 TradeWind where the spare tire was located under the frame (as opposed to a rear of front mount). I was excited to see that originally it looks like the tire was hidden under the floor in the front of the trailer. I checked my trailer and found evidence of a tire mount! They were available online for almost $200 plus so I decided to build my own. I settled on a winch design and welded a frame to hold the winch. The real challenge was a custom rod that extended to the outside of the trailer that could receive a LUG to raise and lower the tire. Took me a long time to design and build but I am glad I did it. This also mandated that I re-configure the belly pan in that area.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page